CMMC Certification: Steps to Achieve Compliance for Defense Contractors

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is rapidly becoming a linchpin in the defense industry's efforts to secure its supply chain. As a defense contractor, CMMC compliance isn't just another hoop to jump through; it's a cornerstone of your eligibility to work on projects vital to national security. This blog post will guide you through the critical steps you need to take to achieve CMMC certification and ensure your business is poised to meet the demands of DoD contracts.

Understanding CMMC

CMMC stands for Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, a unified standard for implementing cybersecurity across the Defense Industrial Base (DIB). The CMMC framework includes various cybersecurity standards and best practices, with maturity processes and cyber hygiene levels ranging from basic cyber hygiene to advanced. For defense contractors, meeting these standards is no longer optional—it's essential.

Steps to Achieve CMMC Compliance

Step 1: Familiarize Yourself with CMMC Levels

CMMC consists of five maturity levels, and each level builds upon the last. Start by determining which level applies to the information you handle or the contracts you aim to secure. Do you deal with Federal Contract Information (FCI) only, or do you also handle Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI)? The type of information will dictate whether you need to be certified at Level 1 (basic cyber hygiene) or at a higher level (up to Level 5 for the most advanced cybersecurity practices).

Step 2: Assess Your Current Cybersecurity Posture

Before you can chart a course to compliance, you need to understand where you stand. Conduct a thorough self-assessment against the CMMC practices and processes for your target level. Identify gaps in your current cybersecurity practices compared to the CMMC requirements. Tools and checklists provided by the CMMC Accreditation Body (CMMC-AB) can be incredibly helpful at this stage.

Step 3: Create a Plan of Action and Milestones (POAM)

Once you have identified the gaps, develop a Plan of Action and Milestones (POAM). This plan will outline the specific steps you need to take to address the gaps in your cybersecurity practices and the timeline for doing so. Be realistic in your planning—rushing can lead to oversight, while dragging your feet can cause unnecessary delays.

Step 4: Implement Required Security Controls

Start working through your POAM, implementing the necessary security controls and processes. This step may involve significant changes to your IT infrastructure and business processes, as well as cultural shifts within your organization. Make cybersecurity a priority at all levels of your business, from the C-suite to the shop floor.

Step 5: Train Your Staff

Cybersecurity is as much about people as it is about technology. Train your employees on the importance of cybersecurity, the specific practices required for CMMC compliance, and the role they play in maintaining cybersecurity standards. Regular training updates should be a part of your cybersecurity strategy.

Step 6: Perform a Pre-Assessment

Once you've implemented the necessary controls, consider engaging a CMMC-AB Registered Provider Organization (RPO) to perform a pre-assessment. This step will give you an idea of how ready you are for the formal assessment and help identify any areas that need more work.

Step 7: Undergo a CMMC Assessment

Arrange for a Certified Third Party Assessor Organization (C3PAO) to conduct your formal CMMC assessment. The assessor will review your documentation, interview personnel, and test your cybersecurity measures to ensure they meet the required standards.

Step 8: Remediate Any Deficiencies

If the assessment uncovers deficiencies, you'll need to remediate them before you can be certified. Your C3PAO can provide a report that details what needs to be fixed. Use this feedback to improve your systems and processes and schedule a follow-up assessment if necessary.

Step 9: Achieve Certification

Once you pass your assessment, you will receive your CMMC certificate, which is valid for three years. This certification will be a key asset in your bids for DoD contracts.

Step 10: Maintain Compliance

CMMC compliance is not a one-and-done deal. Continuous improvement and periodic reassessments are essential. Keep your cybersecurity practices up-to-date with the evolving threat landscape and CMMC requirements.

Final Thoughts

Achieving CMMC certification is a substantial endeavor that demonstrates your commitment to protecting our nation's security. It's a clear signal to the Department of Defense that your business takes cybersecurity seriously and is a reliable partner in the defense supply chain. Follow these steps, and your journey to compliance will be part of the foundation that secures not only your company's future but also the nation's.

Embrace the journey to CMMC compliance with dedication and the understanding that, in the realm of defense, cybersecurity is not just an IT issue—it's a national imperative.

Backed by an award-winning cyber security and IT management team, On Call Compliance Solutions is the #1 source for CMMC, NIST SP 800-171 Compliance, DFARS and ITAR consulting. Give us a call now to schedule a free phone call with one of our compliance experts to see how we can help.

NIST SP 800-171 Compliance Experts


Fill out the form below to get a FREE consultation with one of our CMMC, NIST SP 800-171, DFARS and ITAR experts who can help you achieve your goals. There is never a fee or obligation to find out how we can help.

Contact Us